Brave New Writing World

017
Blogging? Um, okay…

So, I’m new to this blogging thing. As a writer of fantasy and paranormal fiction, I keep hearing from various sources that if you want to write, then write. But if you want to write and be successful (published, paid, known), then you need an online platform. Period. And the easiest way to do that is to blog.

I resisted. For a long time. In fact, I’m a bit of a curmudgeon on this point. What? I can’t just spend my precious free hours in the blissful creation that is writing? Now I have to spend more hours in front of the computer doing this social media thing? (Grumble, grumble.) Friends and family know that even though I have a Facebook account, they rarely find me on that site. I’ve never been to Twitter. I don’t know what Tumblr is, or Instagram, or the numberless other social media sites that seem to pop up every day.

What I do know is that I love writing, and that I want to share it with others, and maybe even get published and paid for my work someday. Even in the “good old days” of traditional publishing, writers had to do a certain amount of marketing for their work. That fact hasn’t changed. What’s changed is the medium, and the sooner a writer accepts that fact and makes it work for them, the better.

With this blog, I’m hoping to:

  1. Develop an online presence.
  2. Connect with other writers and readers.
  3. Talk about what I love–writing and books–in a (hopefully) thoughtful manner.
  4. Improve my writing.

So here I am in this brave new writing world. There’s going to be a learning curve, as I feel my way around here, as I figure out what works and what doesn’t, as I tentatively put my thoughts out into the blogosphere for all the world to see.

Who knows? It might even be fun.

One thought on “Brave New Writing World

Leave a Reply

