Why Write?

“Why did I write? Because I found life unsatisfactory”.–Tennessee Williams

 

Every now and then, it’s useful to revisit that age-old question of Why do I write? Especially those times when I’m feeling like I’m wasting my time, that I’m no good, that no one’s listening, or any other time when I’m whining about writing. I’m not necessarily in that mode right now; I just happened to come across a little blurb I wrote in my notebook one day, and thought I might rework it a little bit and share it here, in the form of a list (‘cuz I like lists).

Why do I write? Because:

  1. I’m not good at anything else. Really. It’s my chosen creative outlet, since I can’t paint, sing, dance, knit, do crafts, or even cook. It gives my life shape and purpose.
  2. It distracts me from worrying about Lilly, bills, mid-life crises, aging parents…you name it, I’m worrying about it. In fiction, I can worry about other people’s problems for awhile.
  3. I have no friends, so I have to create my own.
  4. hands and mouth
  5. Besides bringing a child into the world, putting words into quotes and making a character speak is the most powerful thing I know.
  6. For the most part, it’s a quiet, solitary pursuit; for an introvert, that’s heaven.
  7. Creating fictional worlds imparts a sense of control; for a control freak, that’s heaven.
  8. Magic doesn’t exist in reality–but it should. So I write about it.
  9. Through various characters in a story, I can become everything I’m not; alternatively, I can explore everything that I am.
  10. I find life interesting, and painful, and pathetic, and tragic, and joyful, and beautiful, and ugly, and writing is a good way to explore all of that, how it can be everything at once. Life is a mixed soup of ingredients, and writing is stirring the soup, blending all the elements into something delicious. Hey, maybe I can cook!

Ray Bradbury quote

If you’re a writer, why do you write? What makes you get up in the morning and pick up the pen again (or go to the keyboard)? Leave a comment, and we’ll talk about it!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Why Write?

  1. Hi Tina, I enjoyed this post – I particularly liked #8! It reminded me of escapism and the fact that anything can happen in someone’s writing, it’s only limited by their imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

