How Tina Got Her Groove Back

When I was a teenager and young adult, music was paramount in my life (as it seems to be with most people). This occurred in the 1980’s, an interesting and exciting period musically, in my opinion, because anything went. In the early part of the decade, punk and new wave were dismantling ideas about what music should sound like. Sure, the stuff that came out then could be cheesy, weird, or hokey (Rock Me Amadeus, anyone?); but it was always fun, and some truly cool music emerged from this time that became the soundtrack of my life.

I remember putting the headphones on and listening to The Cure’s Disintegration album over and over. Robert Smith was my bizarre, dark muse during my lonely, painful transition to adulthood.

cure

I remember going to the movie theater and watching U2’s Rattle and Hum again and again. Their rock anthems, and Bono’s passion, spoke to me, as they still do today 25 years later.

U2

Many other bands and performers of that time burned themselves into my  musical psyche (caused by endless hours of watching MTV), but something happened, or a confluence of somethings, that caused me to abandon my reliance on and devotion to music.

First, grunge music made its appearance in the early ’90’s. Everything changed with the advent of Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Stone Temple Pilots, et al from the Seattle scene. I didn’t understand it or like it. I felt alienated, and lamented “Music just isn’t the same, anymore.”

Second, books and writing came to the forefront of my life. I was more interested in exploring the classics, women’s fiction, and fantasy, as well as writing my own stories, than keeping up with any new music out there, music that I didn’t think I liked anyway.

Third, I fell in love and got married. I don’t know how it is with you, but when I’m in love and blissfully happy, I don’t need that musical outlet for angst. I thought maybe I’d grown up and grown out of my obsession for music. Oh, I continued to listen to my old CD’s of The Cure, Depeche Mode, Fleetwood Mac, U2, an assortment of movie soundtracks (The Lord of the Rings–I know, geekville), and classical music now and then on my trusty CD Walkman. I was turning into an musical dinosaur, and I didn’t care. At least a decade of my life went by when I listened to no new music whatsoever. I lamented the dearth of good music. But what did I know? I wasn’t listening.

Two things changed that:

One day more than a decade ago, I was browsing around a video store (remember those?) and a music video was playing on one of their monitors. It was Coldplay’s “Speed of Sound.” My ears perked up, and for the first time in a long time, I listened. And I loved it.

Slowly, I started listening again, and exploring what was out there. The second thing that helped that along was digital music, on internet radio stations like Pandora and Spotify. I could tune in while on my computer at work, and find bands I never would have discovered without it. Bands like Keane, Snow Patrol, The Killers, Arcade Fire. I adore Empire of the Sun. I love them all, and I’m sure there’s plenty more out there I’d like that I haven’t even come across yet.

empire of sun
If this isn’t retro ’80’s, I don’t what is.

 

I still listen to and love the oldies, but there’s room in my heart for its younger siblings. I don’t have the same fervor as I did when I was young; that time has come and gone and will never come again. But I’ve found the joy in discovering music again.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “How Tina Got Her Groove Back

  1. Though I must admit I absolutely hate Coldplay, I saw The Cure and just hAD to click on this post. I went through a similar experience about a year ago, where all I was listening to were either bands from my childhood (mainly The Cure, The Smiths and Marilyn Manson) or completely antiquated musicians like Julie London who I thought no-one else cared about.

    Then I broke into music journalism, and suddenly I realised that people were still making music in the genres I thought were dying out! I found a whole community of people just as passionate about cabaret and swing as I was, and they were doing new and interesting things with the music I loved so much. As for The Cure, well the fact that I’m going to see them in November proved they’ll never go out of style, but I’ve found bands like The Twilight Sad and Voxtrot that definitely have the throwback vibe I was looking for.

    Great post, it really struck a chord with me. I’ll definitely be following!

    Stay different! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for following! I blog about writing, and do the occasional book or movie review. I’ve never done a post about music before this one, but maybe that will change. I’ll have to check out The Twilight Sad and Voxtrot.

      Like

  2. Awesome post Tina! I grew up in the 90s, and went to college in the early 2000s, so I have only over the past few years discovered some of that awesome music you grew up with– except the Cure. Found them my first year of college and fell in love. But there is so much more good stuff to that era of time, and the Pet Shop Boys, Concrete Blonde and New Order have Pandora stations now on my rotation. We live in such a neat time, where we get to discover new music digitally with little or no effort on our part. Here’s to continued discoveries.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

