May is Short Story Month

lilac books
Lilacs and short stories in May.

May is short story month, so I’ve put together a list of my five favorites. I’ve read many wonderful short stories, but these are all particularly memorable for one reason or another (in chronological order of publication):

  1. The Story of an Hour, by Kate Chopin (1897). I love Chopin’s short stories (as well as her novel The Awakening), and this one about a woman who deals with her husband’s sudden death has stuck with me over the years.
  2. The Ice Palace, by F. Scott Fitzgerald (1920). This story about a southern girl engaged to a northern “Yankee” highlights the differences between the two cultures.
  3. A Clean, Well Lighted Place, by Ernest Hemingway (1933). I remember reading this story in my youth, and just like the young waiter in the story, I didn’t understand it, really. Now, I’m more like the older waiter, who better understands the old man’s need for a clean, well lighted place to bring order out of nothingness.
  4. All Summer in a Day, by Ray Bradbury (1954). In this story, it’s always raining on Venus, but every seven years the sun comes out for just two hours. How this scenario plays out with the children living on the planet is a story I’ve never been able to forget.
  5. The Raft, by Stephen King (1982). I’ve always enjoyed Stephen King’s short stories more than his novels; his most recent collection, Full Dark No Stars, is brilliant. But it’s this older story, about a group of teens who swim out to a raft and are terrorized by a monstrous patch of sludge, that will haunt me forever!

 

What are your favorite short stories? Leave a comment and we’ll talk about it!

 

 

5 thoughts on “May is Short Story Month

  1. I didn’t realize that it was short story month! I have so many favorites! Right now I’m enjoying Junot Diaz’s short stories and some Flannery O’Connor. I also really like “The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight In Heaven” by Sherman Alexie. “Quarantine” by Rahul Mehta is also a favorite collection.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

