The Forgetting Time

forgetting time

On her 39th birthday, Janie gives herself a present in the form of a vacation to Trinidad. There she meets married Jeff of Austin.  They share one night of passion, and then he’s out of her life forever. The one thing Janie brings home from the encounter is her son, Noah.

Janie adores Noah, but there are problems. He refuses to take baths, and any attempt on her part to bathe him results in frantic screaming. He knows about things that he’s never been exposed to. He tells Janie every night he wants to go home, to his “other mommy.”

Things get serious when Noah starts talking in preschool about handling a very specific kind of gun. Janie takes him to countless doctors and psychiatrists, with a possible diagnosis of schizophrenia. Desperate, she casts around on the internet and finds Dr. Anderson, a researcher who has spent his entire career documenting cases of past lives.

Anderson, at 68, has been diagnosed with aphasia, a degenerative disease in which he will lose his capacity to read, understand and correctly use language. With the recent loss of his wife, this is a tremendous blow, and he feels he has nothing left to look forward to. Until Janie calls with a request to meet him. Perhaps this is the “strong American case” he needs to finally get his book published, and his lifelong work accepted by mainstream scientists.

After their meeting, Anderson is convinced that Noah is experiencing memories of a previous incarnation. Janie is reluctant to believe in any of this, but her desperation leaves her little choice but to give it a chance. She just wants Noah to be “cured” and to be happy.

Anderson’s increasing aphasia causes him to miss some important clues in his research, and they initially visit the wrong family, a family that had lost their son in a drowning accident. The meeting is painful and wrenching, and Janie vows to be done with it all.

But Noah gives them an an important clue that leads them to Denise and her teenage son Charlie, an African American family living in Ohio. Denise’s 9 year old son Tommy had gone missing seven years ago, and it nearly destroyed her. Her meeting with Noah, Janie and Anderson will finally bring to light what happened to Tommy all those years ago.

I’ve always been fascinated with the idea of reincarnation, and I tore through this book in a week, enthralled with the story and its implications. It stirred up questions of my own, so I wrote a post about a strange, recurring childhood dream that may have been not only a dream, but a memory.

Whether you believe in reincarnation or not, The Forgetting Time is an absorbing, entertaining read, and may even leave you pondering the nature of life, death, and reality itself.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Forgetting Time

  1. I’m fascinated! I read your earlier post: Mack Truck, and intended to respond, but this and that and everything else got in the way.

    So, yes, I’ve always been mindful of the possibility of past lives and reincarnation. It makes a lot more sense than two people being tricked in a garden by a fast-talking serpent and thereby eating a piece of fruit and getting kicked out and, oh yeah, bringing sin in the world…and sex!

    Reincarnation and karma are related in Buddhist thought, and I’m attracted to the both possibilities. The idea of Karma is that what you do in this life impacts you in the next life. Hence you should do good not to please a distant, angry god, but in order to improve yourself and your situation in the next cycle.

    I worked for 37 years at a small Historically Black University in Mississippi, and I loved my job. I remember, back in the eighties, one of my students asked me: “Why did you choose Alcorn State?” Being a white boy, my students were curious as to my teaching at a Black university. There were other white instructors, but we were a definite minority. Before I could answer, another student, piped up. “He’s here because in another life he was a slave owner. Now he has to work for us!” We all had a great laugh, but I went back to my little trailer and wondered about that. Could it be? Who am I? Who have I been? And, why am I here? I still ask these questions, seriously.

    I can’t say reincarnation is a reality, but I refuse to dismiss it. We want to make sense of things don’t we? Maybe that’s why I read…and write…to try to make sense of it all. There must be an answer. I’m also getting into meditation which is a wonderful way to connect with that inner world at which our techno culture basically scoffs.

    Meditation, for me, is one step beyond prayer. I respect prayer–the power of it–but with prayer one is busy–talking as it were–but with meditation one goes deeper into the silence. Ah, I’m starting to sound New Agey…don’t want to do that either.

    Well, the long and short of it all is, I’ve ordered “The Forgetting Time” and can’t wait to read it, so we can talk more about this. 🙂

    Thank you Tina!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

