Book Roundup

I’ve got a few new books on my TBR list, so I thought I’d share them here:

  • Night of the Animals, by Bill Broun. In a futuristic tale set in London of 2052, Cuthbert Handley is on a quest: release all the animals from the London Zoo. Ever since his brother died in childhood, he’s been hearing voices. He calls these voices the Wonderments, a gift his grandmother claimed he had. As he pursues his strange mission, a suicide cult floods the streets, bent on killing all the animals and themselves. Sounds strange and interesting.
  • night-of-the-animals
  • The Little Paris Bookshop, by Nina George. This book, about a “literary apothecary” on a floating barge, sounds like a fun read. Jean Perdu has the gift of finding just the right book to soothe a patron’s soul. However, he cannot seem to cure himself, ever since the love of his life left twenty years ago, leaving behind a letter he’s never read. Could be a bit too sentimental for me, but I’m due for some lighter fare.
  • little-paris-bookshop
  • The Many Selves of Katherine North, by Emma Geen. Nineteen year old Kit is a phenomenaut-someone who projects herself into the minds of lab-grown animals through a neurological interface-in order to more fully understand the other species we share out world with. When her company, Shencorp, takes a more commercial and ominous turn, her safety comes into question. Another speculative animal tale that sounds intriguing.
  • selves-of-katherine-north
  • Uprooted, by Naomi Novik. It’s been along time since I’ve read pure “fantasy”, and I miss it. This one is in the style of a classic Slavic fairy tale. Every ten years in the villagea of Dvernik  in the kingdom of Polnya, a lottery determines who will go live with the mysterious wizard in his mountain tower. No one knows what happens to the girls who win this lottery, but Agnieszka is about to find out. A dark tale of magic and mystery.
  • uprooted

 

Have you read any of these books? What’s on your TBR list? Leave a comment and we’ll talk about it!

 

2 thoughts on “Book Roundup

  1. The only one I’ve read is The Little Paris Bookshop and I’ve got to say I had to push myself to get through it. The writing is awesome. I truly enjoyed reading the book, but once halfway through–I simply lost interest. I can’t say why. Well I can but I won’t, hah. At any rate, I hope you let us know how you like it.

    Many Selves and Uprooted sound great to me. I’m definitely putting them on my TBR list. Right now I’m reading a non-fiction book: Rain: a natural and cultural history by Cynthia Barnett.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

