Book Review 2016

Looking over my reading list of this past year, I thought I’d pick out some favorites, some not-so-favorites, the hits, the misses, and the abandoned.

I’ve read fourteen books this year (12 fiction and 2 non-fiction) and I’ve loved, or at least mostly liked, all of them. I’d have to say my top three favorites are:

dark placescity of mirrorspeculiar-children

 

  • Dark Places, by Gillian Flynn.
  • City of Mirrors, by Justin Cronin.
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs. I just finished reading this book and don’t have a review yet; stay tuned.

My least favorite book out of all of them has to be The Martian, by Andy Weir. Don’t get me wrong; I loved the movie, but the book was a bit tedious. Good story, but better told through a different medium.

The award for Most Mind-Blowing Book goes to Dark Matter, by Blake Crouch, and the Just Plain Weird award goes to Night of the Animals, by Bill Broun.

There were three books that I started with good intentions, but will join the Halls of the Unfinished:

  • Steering the Craft, by Ursula K. LeGuin. I hadn’t read a good craft book in a while, but I just wasn’t disciplined enough to get through this one at the time. I had better luck with Old Friend From Far Away, by Natalie Goldberg, which I’m still writing through.
  • Circling the Sun, by Paula McLain. I thought I’d really like this novelization of Beryl Markham’s life (the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic), but…I just didn’t. Maybe I’d have better luck with West With the Night, a memoir.
  • The Lace Reader, by Brunonia Barry. This book, about a family of lace readers in Salem, Massachusetts, has been on my shelf for a long time, and I finally started it a while ago and have been reading it between book club reads. I’m not sure if it will ever get finished.

The book club has really kept me on track with reading-if I didn’t have anyone else to read books with and have a deadline, it would probably take me a lot longer to read a book, and I certainly wouldn’t have read a lot of these titles, which would have been a shame. I can’t wait to see what great books the new year holds for me!

Have you read any of these books? What was your favorite book of the year?

 

 

Leave a Reply

