Here’s to a Healthier, Happier New Year

 

I’ve learned over the years not to make New Year’s resolutions that are too specific, or indeed, to make them at all, considering that I would just be setting myself up for failure.

In writing, usually my only resolution is to keep writing. That’s it–just keep putting pen to paper or fingers to keyboard on a regular basis. Not “I’m going to finish this novel,” or “I’m going to focus on short stories,” or “This year I’m going to write memoir.” Because I inevitably change my mind and take a different direction than what I planned. I veer off according to my writing moods, what excites me at the moment. Sometimes I spend too much time worrying that I lack focus, but that’s just how I work.

So, just keep writing.

I will keep writing-it’s ingrained in me, like brushing my teeth-but at least for now, I’ll probably be writing a little less than I’d like. There are various personal reasons for this-my mother needs me; I need to focus on some self-care. 2016 left all of us reeling and exhausted, for obvious reasons. But I’m also feeling drained and unhealthy, due to family obligations and self-neglect. So 2017 needs to be about healing, in many ways.

The one true resolution I’ve made is to cut out sugar from my diet. Yes, the party’s over-at 45, I can’t keep eating this poison. It’s wreaking havoc on my body and mind, which in turn affects my well-being, my relationships, my very life. Time to stop the insanity.

good-food-and-legs
Those aren’t my legs. (I wish). 

So I’ll be spending more time with Mom (always a good thing), and spending more time shopping for healthy food, cooking actual meals, maybe even doing a little recipe-hunting (this is so not me, but I suppose it’s never too late). Exercise more. It helps that my husband and I are doing this together (he’s got his own gastro issues). All of this is to the good. Nothing is worth sacrificing your health and your family.

Having said that, I’m hoping that once I start to feel better and am less tired, I can get away with a little less sleep and get the notebook out for an hour or two before bed every night. I’ll continue to blog, but only once a week for now. As for fiction-I really don’t know. Wolf Dream waits, and I’ve been exhorted to get going on that dragon novel, too, since I posted Shiny Pretty Things . But I simply don’t have the energy for novels right now. The manageability of short stories calls, and I miss writing them. I’ll see where my pen leads me.

So that’s my vague plan for 2017-get better and keep writing, one small step at a time.

Whatever your goals and resolutions are for 2017, have a Happy New Year.

8 thoughts on “Here’s to a Healthier, Happier New Year

  1. A healthier me is my goal too! I went to the doc, stepped on the scale… and accepted (finally) that the 21 year old infantry sergeant is gone and with my health complications I need to eat better. We’ve got some definitely meal prep and crockpot meals in our future.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know it’s not really the “new year” anymore, but I’ve been feeling out of touch with WordPress–which really means that I feel out of touch with you. I hope 2017 is treating you well and I’m going to be around more going forward. I miss you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

