10 Things

cash-register-576159_960_720

Ten things to remind me why I like working as a cashier in a grocery store:

  1. It’s my little contribution to the household income (and boy, we need it).
  2. It gets me out of the house, away from worries about Lilly and bills and writing and the state of the world.
  3. It’s my stand-in for a social life. Otherwise I probably wouldn’t see or talk to too many other souls. Not that I talk a lot; I listen more.
  4. 10% discount on groceries! It helps.
  5. Counting back change keeps my basic math skills sharp.
  6. Ringing up groceries can be like meditation or a good time for daydreaming. If I’m careful (and I’m not always), I can let my mind wander over the beeps and think about the book I’m reading (see #7), or what I’m writing, or pretty much anything I want to think about.
  7. I can get a lot of reading done. Really. I bring my Kindle, and in between customers or during slow times, I can get a few paragraphs in. It’s no worse than the young ones getting on their phones (which they do).
  8. Speaking of young ones, it’s a great opportunity for me to pick the minds of the younger generation (for when they turn up in my fiction), which I realized quite a while ago I know nothing about, except that they teethed on keyboards. What makes them tick? Turns out, there’s a lot of talk about college requirements, who’s dating who, and intense discussion of The Bachelor (females, anyway). Huh. I guess the more things change, the more they stay the same.
  9. I don’t take my job home with me. This is extremely important to me, and always has been. Once I leave the work place, my time is my own. Period.
  10. People-watching. Half the town makes their way through here on any given day, and there’s no end of interesting people (annoying or not) that have found their way into my Purple Notebook. 

Bonus #11. It’s a pretty easy job. Really, it’s so easy, a caveman can do it.

caveman

Whoa, easy there, caveman. Just kidding. I still screw up a lot, and there’s still plenty left to learn.

If you’re a writer (or any kind of artist), what’s your day job? Do you like it? Does it support your art, or stifle you? Leave a comment, and we’ll talk about it!

Leave a Reply

